General Information

COVID-19 has affected 41.5 million people and caused more than 1.1 million deaths globally. Beyond morbidity and mortality, the COVID-19 pandemic has also had an impact on every aspect of our lives, including social, political, and economic.

While much attention is on the medical aspects of preventing and treating SARS-CoV-2 infection, including current and future therapeutics and vaccines, there is a need to highlight myriad interconnected issues that affect our daily lives, with implication for today, tomorrow, and the future.

“Re-thinking Everything, COVID-19 in the Americas”
Multinational online conference that aims to address the historical challenges presented by the COVID-19 pandemic. Our objective is to “re-think” the management of this pandemic through meaningful dialogue between experts, activists, and professionals through the continent.

COVID-19 in The Americas is sponsored by the AHF Global Public Health Institute and the Institute of Advanced Study of The Americas (both at the University of Miami), and the International Association of Providers of AIDS Care (IAPAC). The virtual educational activity aims to promote multidisciplinary dialogue across various themes:

  • Sexuality and COVID-19
  • Don’t Forget About HIV – HIV/AIDS, LGBTQ+, Activism
  • Women’s Health During the Pandemic
  • Palliative/ Clinical Care
  • The Role of the Government – Vaccination Policy, Health Care Delivery
  • Of Myths and Facts – Epidemiology Law, Public Policy
  • The Two Worlds – Social Justice, Health Equity
  • Lurking Beneath the Surface – Substance Abuse, Mental Health
  • Crash and Resuscitation – Economy
  • Carnival and Circus – Cultural Ethos of the Pandemic in the Americas

Registration is free-of-charge. Registrants will receive email updates as new panel discussions and plenary sessions are scheduled to take place from October 2020 through March 2021.

Click on a language to view current COVID-19 data for The Americas: English, Portuguese, Spanish.

Program

COVID-19 in The Americas is a virtual educational activity that will start the week of October 26, 2020 and commence through March 2021. The virtual platform is accessible by clicking here. Please note, you must be registered in order to access the virtual platform.

Panel 1: Importance of a COVID-19 Conference in The Americas
Tuesday, October 27, 2020, 2:30pm-3:25pm EDT

The video recording for Panel 1 is available under the “Archives” tab above.

Panel 2: COVID-19: Re-Thinking Everything
Tuesday, October 27, 2020, 3:30pm-4:30pm EDT
The video recording for Panel 2 is available under the “Archives” tab above.

View the Panel 2 program here.

Panel 3: Sexuality and COVID-19
Wednesday, October 28, 2020, 11:00am-12:30pm EDT
The video recording for Panel 3 is available under the “Archives” tab above.

View the Panel 3 program here.

Panel 4: Avances en Terapia Intensiva durante la Pandemia por COVID-19
Friday, October 30, 2020, 7:00pm-8:30pm EDT
The video recording for Panel 4 is available under the “Archives” tab above.

View the Panel 4 program here.

Panel 5: Sexualidad y COVID-19
Thursday, November 19, 2020, 11:00am-12:30pm EST
The video recording for Panel 5 is available under the “Archives” tab above.

View the Panel 5 program here.

Track: Lecciones Aprendidas del COVID-19 (Continuidad en los Servicios de Salud)

Panel 6: Adaptación de Servicios de VIH en Tiempos de Pandemia (AHF GPHI Team)
Wednesday, December 2, 2020, 12:00pm-1:30pm EST

Track: Impacto Social del COVID-19

Panel 7: Activismo del VIH en Tiempos de Pandemia (AHF GPHI Team)
Wednesday, December 2, 2020, 1:40pm-3:10pm EST

Track: Impacto Social del COVID-19

Panel 8: Activismo LGBTI durante la Pandemia
Thursday, December 3, 2020, 12:00pm-1:30pm EST

Track: Social Impact of COVID-19

Panel 9: LGBTQ Activism during the Pandemic
Thursday, December 3, 2020, 2:00pm-3:30pm EST

Track: Gerenciamento Clínico da COVID-19 (Co-morbidades)

Panel 10: Não se Esqueça do HIV (AHF Brazil)
Thursday, December 3, 2020, 2:00pm-3:00pm EST

Track: Lessons Learned from COVID-19 (Implementing Course Corrections)

Panel 11: Are Lessons Learned from HIV Pandemic Applicable Now? (AHF GPHI Team)
Thursday, December 3, 2020, 3:40pm-5:10pm EST

Track: Impacto Social del COVID-19

Panel 12: Importancia del Cuidado de la Salud de la Mujer en Tiempos de COVID-19
Miércoles 09 de diciembre 2020, 11:00am-12:30pm EST

Panel 13: Importancia de la Detección Oportuna del Cáncer en la Mujer en Tiempos de COVID-19
Miércoles 09 de diciembre 2020, 1:00pm-2:00pm EST


Track: Palliative/Clinical Care

Panel 14: Cerrar la Brecha en el Acceso a los Cuidados Paliativos y el Alivio del Dolor: Un Imperativo de la Cobertura Universal de Salud
Martes 12 de enero 2021, 10:30 hrs CDMX/Guatemala, 11:30 hrs Miami/Lima/Bogotá, 13:30 hrs Buenos Aires/São Paulo

Panel 15: La Importancia de los Cuidados Paliativos ante la Pandemia COVID-19
Martes 12 de enero 2021, 11:15 hrs CDMX/Guatemala, 12:15 hrs Miami/Lima/Bogotá, 14:15 hrs Buenos Aires/São Paulo

Panel 16: COVID-19 and HIV: What We Know (and Do Not Know)  
Tuesday, January 12, 2021, 1:30pm-2:30pm EST

Track: The Role of the Government

Panel 17: City Multilateralism: The Role of Urban Leadership in Ending the COVID-19 Pandemic 
Tuesday, January 19, 2021, 12:00pm-1:00pm EST

Panel 18: Despolitizar la Respuesta a la Emergencia: Datos vs Demagogia
Miércoles 20 de enero 2021, 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM CDMX/Guatemala, 12:00 – 1:00 PM Miami/Lima/Bogotá, 2:00 – 3:00 PM Buenos Aires

Panel 19: Cuarentena en la Ciudad de Lima: Restricciones y Alternativas para Mantener la Atención a personas con VIH
Miércoles 20 de enero 2021, 12:00 – 1:00 PM CDMX/Guatemala, 1:00 – 2:00 PM Miami/Lima/Bogotá, 3:00 – 4:00 PM Buenos Aires

Track: Of Myths and Facts

Panel 20: Mitos e Fatos – Burlando os Direitos do Trabalhador em Tempos de Pandemia
Terça feira, dia 26 de janeiro de 2020 12h00 (Miami) |14h00 (Brasília )
Moderador: Juiz Oscar Krost
Panelista: Dr. Patrick Maia Merísio, Dr. Raphael Miziara

Panel 21: Economic Interest versus Public Health: Addressing Myths and Realities
Wednesday, January 27, 2021, 11:00 AM CDMX, 12:00 PM Miami
Moderator: Alan Whiteside
Panelists: Sanjay Reddy, David Wilson

Panel 22: Desinformación y sus Consecuencias sobre las Medidas de Mitigación
Miércoles 27 de enero 2021 12:00 PM CDMX, 1:00 PM Miami
Moderador: Natasah Durmoi Eluf
Panelistas: Fabiola Torres, Nora Bär, Paulino Vigil de García

Track: The Two Worlds

Panel 23: A People’s COVID-19 Vaccine? Ensuring Equity of Access in The Americas
Tuesday, February 2, 2021, 12:00 PM EST
Moderator: Lawrence Gostin
Panelists: César Nuñez, Carissa Etienne, Abby Maxman

Panel 24: LGBTQ Communities: Challenges and Needs during the COVID-19 Pandemic
Wednesday, February 3, 2021, 12:00 PM EST
Panelists: Alphonso David, Jumoke Patrick, Helen Kennedy

Panel 25: Siempre Vulnerables
Miércoles 3 de febrero de 2021, 12.00 – 1:00 PM CDMX/Guatemala, 1:00 – 2:00 PM Miami/Lima
Moderator: Nicole Finkelstein
Panelist: Elvira Madrid, Brenda Crabtree, Sheila Ramírez Chicoma, Saúl Paau

Panel 26: Iquitos, Tabatinga y Leticia Tres Enfoques sobre la Respuesta a la Crisis Sanitaria del VIH y COVID-19
Miércoles 3 de febrero de 2021, 2:00 – 3:30 PM Miami/Lima, 4:00 – 5:30 PM Brasil
Moderator: Silvia Barbaran
Panelists:
Carlos Arósquipa, Juan Carlos Celis, Nery Furtado, Elia Johanna Gómez Porras

Track: Lurking Beneath the Surface

Panel 27: Personal de Salud en la Primera Línea de Atención durante COVID-19
Martes 09 de febrero 2021 11:00 – 12:00 PM CDMX 12:00 – 1:00 PM Miami/Bogotá
Moderator: Dra. Sandra Ávila
Panelist: Dra. Xihomara Rojas, Dr. Diego Fonseca, Enf. Marcela Rojas, Dra. Isabel Vivas

Panel 28: Las Enfermedades Crónicas y Urgencias Médicas durante la Pandemia por COVID-19
Martes 09 de febrero 2021 12:00 – 1:30 PM CDMX 1:00 – 2:30 PM Miami/Colombia
Moderator: Dr. Camilo Alonso
Panelist: Dra. Nohora Rodríguez, Sr. José Luis Lazo, Dra. Mireille Arango, Dra. Liliana Andrade

Panel 29: Pandemia e Saúde Mental: Impactos e Desafios Mundiais

Martes 09 de fevereiro 2021 17h30 (Miami) |19h30 (Brasília)
Moderator: Dra. Dirce Brasil Ferrari
Panelist: Dra. Fabiane Machado, Dra. Eliana Bortolon

Panel 30: Trastornos por Uso de Sustancias y COVID-19: Epidemias Entrelazadas
Miércoles 10 de febrero, 2021 09:00 – 10:15 a.m. (Mexico City) |10:00 – 11:15 a.m. (Miami)
Keynote: Nora D. Volkow, M.D.

Panel 31: The impact of COVID on the Treatment of Opioid Use Disorder in the US
Wednesday, February 10, 2021 at 11:30 a.m. (Miami)
Moderator: David A. Fiellin, MD
Panelist: Dr. Jose Szapocznik, Paul Joudrey, MD, MPH, Coralee Pérez Pedrogo, PhD

Track: Crash and Resuscitation

Panel 32: Respuestas Nacionales y Subnacionales de Política Pública no Farmacológicas para la Contención del COVID-19 en América Latina
Viernes 19 de febrero 2021, 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM CDMX, 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM Miami/Quito/Lima, 12:00 PM – 2:00 PM La Paz 1:00 PM – 3:00 PM Santiago/Brasilia
Moderadora: Dra. Felicia M. Knaul
Panelista: Dr. Jorge T. Insua, Dra. Calla Hummel, Dr. Michael Touchton, Dr. Pedro Pérez, Dr. Fausto Patiño, Mtro. Héctor Arreola, Mtro. Renzo Calderón

Panel 33: La Resiliencia de las Organizaciones de la Sociedad Civil ante la COVID-19
Viernes 5 de marzo 12:00 – 1:30 PM CDMX 1:00 – 2:30 PM Miami
Moderadora: Raúl Maza
Panelista: Rocío García, Eva Flores, Cecilia García, Alejandra Contreras

Panel 34: Equidad en el acceso a la vacuna contra COVID-19 en Latinoamérica y el Caribe – Sesión en conjunto con la Comunidad de Estados Latinoamericanos y Caribeños (CELAC)
Miércoles 10 de marzo 11:00 AM – 12:30 PM CDMX, 12:00 PM – 13:30 Miami, 14:00 PM – 15.30 Santiago, Buenos Aires
Moderadora: Efraín Guadarrama
Panelista: Rodrigo Yáñez, Cecilia Nicolini, Martha Delgado

Panel 35: Covid-19 and the New World of Work. Time to Rethink the Global Public Health Order
Tuesday, March 09th 12:00 – 1:30 PM Miami/Kingston
Moderator: Dr. Kevin Harvey
Panelists: Prof. Winston Davidson, Dr. Joshua Anzinger, Dr. Alverston Bailey, Prof. Celia Christie

Panel 36: Costo de la negligencia: La falta de un plan de emergencia Jueves 11 de marzo, 2021 09:00 – 10:30 AM CDMX, 10: 00 – 11:30 AM Miami
Moderadora: Dra. Patricia Campos
Panelists: Mercedes Barrientos, Juan Pablo Gutiérrez, Nora Lustig

Registrants will receive email updates as new panels and plenaries are scheduled throughout 2020 and 2021.

Instructions

Instrucciones en Español – click aquí.

Instruções em Portugues – clicando aqui.

All registered delegates may access the virtual platform by clicking here.

Following are detailed instructions for accessing the conference’s livestreamed sessions:

1) The email address with which you registered for the conference will be required to register for the virtual platform by clicking “Register Now,” circled in blue below.

2) Once you register for the virtual platform, you will be able to log into and access the conference online platform. If you receive an error message when you register, then your email is already in the system.

3) To access the online platform, you will need to click “Login,” circled in pink below, and enter the same email address you used to register.

4) After you login, you will be in the conference’s virtual Lobby. Click the “Auditorium” buttons as the first step to access a livestreamed session. Both clickable Auditorium buttons are circled in red in the image below.

5) Once you are in the virtual Auditorium, click on the Auditorium’s screen, circled in red below, to access the livestreamed sessions.

6) After clicking on the virtual Auditorium screen, you will see:

• a list of speakers; and
• the upcoming session titles.

7) Click the “Join” button on the right, circled in red below, in order to view the livestreamed session. You CANNOT join the session before it begins. You CANNOT join a session that has ended. If a session has ended, it will be archived on the IAPAC website (www.IAPAC.org). Make note of the the start and end times of the sessions.

 

Conference Archives

Our Conferences

Virtual

October 2020 - March 2021

Learn More

Orlando

June 13 - 15, 2021

Register

Amsterdam

October 16 - 17, 2021

View Archives

Lisbon

October 20 - 22, 2021

Register

Virtual

May 6, 2020

View Archives

Virtual

June 30 - July 1, 2020

View Archives