About the National Dialogue

On April 8, 2021, the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) announced that racism is a national public health crisis in the United States and issued a call to action to address racism’s impact on health outcomes for all Americans. More than 200 cities and counties, health departments, and elected officials across the United States have proclaimed that “racism is a public health crisis.” This movement to address racism as a public health crisis is closely aligned with the objectives of the Fast-Track Cities initiative, which seeks to support urban leadership in many of the same cities and counties towards the aim of ending their urban HIV epidemics by 2030.

The Goals for a National Dialogue

The national dialogue was kicked off on February 9, 2022, during a two-hour discussion hosted by IAPAC in partnership with Howard Brown Health in Chicago. Benefiting from local, state, and national insights, the discussion laid out the framework for a yearlong dialogue that will delve into health equity challenges in relation to race that serve as a barrier for ending urban HIV epidemics. Each dialogue will feature potential solutions to support Fast-Track Cities in tackling racism and the other social determinants of health that limit health equity in communities of color.

IAPAC will coordinate 12 city-specific online dialogue sessions, each in a US Fast-Track City starting in Baltimore and ending in Chicago (where the February 9, 2022, dialogue framing discussion took place). The 12 cities selected to host dialogue sessions include Atlanta, Baltimore, Birmingham, Boston, Charleston, Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Durham, New Orleans, and Phoenix, as well as the District of Columbia. The city-specific sessions will facilitate dialogue between city, county, state, and national policy makers, as well as city and county health department officials, clinicians and service providers, and community advocates. The dialogue will include discussion about how racism is negatively affecting health equity and outcomes for communities of color, as well as feature solutions being employed by cities and counties to address racism and its effects on health equity and outcomes. As important, the dialogue will conclude with a report at the conclusion of the series featuring best practices on addressing racism as a public health crisis in urban settings.

National Dialogue Session 1: Baltimore

The first online national dialogue session will take place from 11:00 am to 3:00 pm ET, Thursday, May 19, 2022, in Baltimore.

Below is the dialogue program listing confirmed speakers. Registration is required to participate. Click here to register.

Opening Remarks

11:00 AM – 11:10 AM EST

8:00 AM – 8:10 AM PST

9:00 AM – 9:10 AM MST

10:00 AM – 10:10 AM CST

Dr. José M. Zuniga, President/CEO, IAPAC and FTCI, Washington DC
Baltimore Health Equity: Mental and Sexual Health, Substance Use, and Poverty

11:10 AM – 11:55 AM EST

8:10 AM – 8:55 AM PST

9:10 AM – 9:55 AM MST

10:10 AM – 10:55 AM CST

Dr. Kamila Alexander, Assistant Professor, John Hopkins University
Dr. Victoria Cargill, Assistant Commissioner, Baltimore City Health Department
Clarrissa Taylor Jackson, Director of Programs and Outreach, NAMI Metropolitan Baltimore
Confluence of Challenges: Addressing the Opioid Crisis, HIV, and COVID-19 in Baltimore

12:00 PM – 12:45 PM EST

9:00 AM – 9:45 AM PST

10:00 AM – 10:45 AM MST

11:00 AM – 11:45 AM CST

Deborah Dunn, Physician Assistant, Chase Brexton Health Services
Rajani Gudlavalleti, Director of Mobilization, Baltimore Harm Reduction Coalition
Dr. Omeid Heidari, Nurse Practitioner and Fellow, John Hopkins University

Break

12:45 PM – 1:00 PM EST

9:45 AM – 10:00 AM PST

10:45 AM – 11:00 AM MST

11:45 AM – 12:00 PM CST

Performer TBA
Community Action: Organizing and Campaigning for Racial and Health Equity

1:00 PM – 1:45 PM EST

10:00 AM – 10:45 AM PST

11:00 AM – 11:45 AM MST

12:00 PM – 12:45 PM CST

Dr. Durryle Brooks, President and Founder, Love & Justice Consulting, LLC
Cody Lopez, Founder/CEO, Black Advocates Leading Revolutions
Dr. Lorece Edwards, Professor, Morgan State UniversityOther Speakers TBA
Political Engagement: Exercising Leadership on Race, Poverty, and Equity 

1:50 PM – 2:35 PM EST

10:50 AM – 11:35 AM PST

11:50 AM – 12:35 PM MST

12:50 PM – 1:35 PM CST

Dr. Francesca Weaks, Faculty Assistant and Health Equity Fellow, University of Maryland
Sean Stinnett, Deputy Director, Mayor’s Office of Minority and Women-Owned Businesses
Irene Agustin, Director, Mayor’s Office of Homeless Services
Nikki Thompson, Director of Legislative Affairs, Baltimore City Council
Closing Remarks

2:40 PM – 3:00 PM EST

11:40 AM – 12:00 PM PST

12:40 PM – 1:00 PM MST

1:40 PM – 2:00 PM CST

Dr. José M. Zuniga, President/CEO, IAPAC and FTCI, Washington, DC

For more information, please contact Rae White at rwhite@iapac.org.
The National Dialogue on the Intersection of Racism and HIV as a Public Health Crisis is made possible through grant support from Gilead Sciences, Merck & Co., and ViiV Healthcare.